Home About Us Media Kit Subscriptions Links Forum

View All Articles

Download PDF










Camps & Sports


Children’s Corner

Collected Features


Cover Stories

Distance Learning


Famous Interviews


Medical Update

Metro Beat

Movies & Theater


Music, Art & Dance

Special Education

Spotlight On Schools

Teachers of the Month



















McGraw Hill’s Corporate Leadership & Responsibility in Education
Teacher Development, STEM & HS Reform Leaders Honored with 2006 McGraw Prize in Education
Recently the 2006 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education honored three significant innovators—Norman R. Augustine, Wendy Kopp and Vincent D. Murray—who have brought a deep, steady commitment to the improvement of education in the United States. Announced by Harold McGraw III, chairman, president and chief executive officer of The McGraw-Hill Companies, the honorees were recognized at a black-tie gala at the New York Public Library.

The guest list was a compendium of Who’s Who in Education including Vartan Gregorian, Joel Klein, Alfred Posamentier, Kathy Wylde, Marvin Leffler, Gene Maeroff, Paul LeClerc, Augusta Kappner, David Steiner, Julia Rankin, Bob Wise, Vishakha N. Desai, James Comer, Nancy Grasmick, Eric Nadelstern, Linda Curtis-Bey, Lynn Kagan, Rod Paige, Grace Hechinger,  Richard Colvin and Charlotte Frank.

“There remain both exciting and unsettling challenges in this still new Century, from the impact of globalization to the application of new technologies. This year’s McGraw Prize winners embrace innovative changes in education that will best serve the need of today’s students as they address these challenges,” said Mr. McGraw. “From a business leader who gave as much time to education reform as to running one of the largest corporations in America, to a former college student who turned a senior thesis into a successful national program, to a high school principal who transformed expectations and achievement levels for faculty and students, the 2006 McGraw Prize Winners show us the impact creative spirit can have.”

The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education annually recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education in this country and whose accomplishments are making a difference today. Honorees are chosen by a distinguished panel of judges made up of thoughtful and influential members of the education community. Each winner receives a gift of $25,000 and a bronze sculpture. The Prize was established in 1988 to honor Mr. McGraw’s lifelong commitment to education, and to mark the Corporation’s 100th anniversary.

“For nearly 20 years of awarding the McGraw Prize, I am always struck by the winners’ level of passion to help all students, especially those from disadvantaged circumstances,” added Mr. McGraw. “The 2006 McGraw Prize honorees are tackling some of the most pressing issues we face in education today—Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM), teacher professional development and secondary school performance—with dedication, innovation and a creative spirit difficult to match.”

The winners of the 19th annual McGraw Prize were Norman R. Augustine, the retired chairman and chief executive officer of Lockheed Martin Corporation, who remains very active in both business and philanthropic pursuits. He recently chaired the National Academies Committee on Prospering in the Global Economy, which produced the highly acclaimed report, Rising Above the Gathering Storm. Augustine served many positions with the federal government, including acting secretary of the U.S. Army. He is a member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, the advisory board to the Department of Homeland Security, and five times was awarded the U.S. Department of Defense’s highest civilian decoration, the Distinguished Service Medal.

Wendy Kopp is the president and founder of Teach For America, the national corps of outstanding recent college graduates. These dedicated individuals commit two years to teach in urban and rural public schools, and become lifelong leaders in pursuit of educational excellence and equity. Teach For America’s mission is to build the movement to eliminate educational inequity by enlisting our country’s most promising future leaders in the effort. In 1989, Kopp proposed the creation of Teach For America in her undergraduate senior thesis and has spent the last 15 years working to sustain and grow the organization. Today, more than 3,500 corps members are teaching in our country’s neediest communities, reaching approximately 300,000 students. They join more than 10,000 Teach For America alumni who are already assuming significant leadership roles in education and social reform even though they are in their 20s and 30s.

Vincent D. Murray, principal of Henry W. Grady High School in Atlanta, Georgia since 1991, has led the transformation of an inner-city public school into a higher achieving institution in which graduation and college-going rates have consistently risen above the district and state averages. Sixty-six percent of Grady High students are African American and 44 percent qualify for free or reduced price lunch. When Murray joined Grady High, more than a third of all freshmen were held back and repeated their freshman year. The student body’s passing rate on the Georgia graduation test was far below the statewide average. With Murray’s innovative reform efforts, today, four out of every five Grady High graduates go directly into colleges or universities, including Ivy League institutions.

Dr. Charlotte Frank was cited by Teri McGraw for research and her outstanding work at McGraw Hill.

Past honorees include: Barbara Bush, founder of the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy; James B. Hunt, Jr., former Governor of North Carolina; former U.S. Secretaries of Education Richard Riley and Rod Paige; Carl Cohn, former Superintendent of the Long Beach Unified School District (now Superintendent, San Diego Unified School District, California.#

Founded in 1888, The McGraw-Hill Companies is a leading global information services provider meeting worldwide needs in the financial services, education and business information markets through leading brands such as Standard & Poor’s, McGraw-Hill Education, BusinessWeek and J.D. Power and Associates. The Corporation has more than 290 offices in 38 countries. Sales in 2005 were $6.0 billion. Additional information is available at http://www.mcgraw-hill.com.



Show email





Education Update, Inc.
All material is copyrighted and may not be printed without express consent of the publisher. © 2009.